2013 Spring Commencement and Convocation

From the Office of Student Affairs

July 17, 2014

2013 C O P H 2013 Graduates at Convocation

2013 Graduates of COPH

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) awarded certificates and degrees to 45 graduates of the Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health (COPH) during the May 12, 2013 commencement ceremony held at Verizon Arena in North Little Rock. A total of 891 students from UAMS’ five colleges and Graduate School graduated that day.
On the day before, the COPH held its annual Convocation and Awards Ceremony in the Bruce Commons at the college. During the ceremony the College saluted graduates and recognized awardees who were honored for their excellence in teaching, research, public health practice, and service. The event opened with remarks from COPH Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Katharine Stewart, PhD, MPH; a welcome from COPH Dean James Raczynski, PhD; and greetings from UAMS Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeanne Heard, MD, PhD. Recognition of graduates and awardees concluded the program.

The 2013 COPH graduating class reflects the growing diversity of the College’s program offerings. Degrees and certificates awarded included one Doctor of Public Health degree, 35 Masters of Public Health degrees, four Master of Health Services Administration degrees, and four Post Baccalaureate Certificates in Public Health. Also recognized were two Doctor of Philosophy graduates (in public health, degrees awarded through the Graduate School), as well as 12 graduates of the Graduate Certificate in Regulatory Science program. The Regulatory Science program, established in 2012, is a collaborative effort with the COPH Department of Environmental and Occupational Health, College of Pharmacy, and UAMS Research Support Center.

Congratulations to the graduates, listed below by degree program:

Doctor of Public Health
Yousef Arfan Fahoum – Little Rock

Master of Public Health
Aisha Ahmad – Maumelle
Regina Rena Alexander – Osceola
Ashley E. Bachelder – Athol, Mass.
Jacquelyn Adele Bailey – West Memphis
Mariama Laouali Balla – Zinder (Niger)
Zuakernah A. Belo – Lawrenceville, Ga.
Benjamin Lloyd Frizzell – Conway
Alexander S. Geddes – Chatham, N.J.
Tina Adline Gomes – Dhaka, Bangladesh
Coedy Tim Hadden – Little Rock
Corey James Hayes – Morrilton
Karen L. Hooks – Little Rock
Bradley Cole Houston – Little Rock
Sarah Allyn Hurst – Jonesboro
Jessica Jester – Hot Springs
Julia W. Kettlewell – North Little Rock
Jo Ann Jefferson Nycum – Little Rock
Jennifer Ijeoma Onukwube – Little Rock
Quynh Nhu Phan – Bryant
Marissa Nicole Roberts – Chicago, Ill.
Emily Stephens Rushing – Paragould
Amanda Roxanne Saffell – Roy, Utah
Sharon Elaine Sanders – Fresno, Calif.
Carla Colen Sparks – Warren Master of Public Health
Alice Margaret Story – Fayetteville, Ga.
Sahba Talebi – Rogers
Danielle Audrey Wete Tchoungang – Douala, Cameroon
My Hong Tran – Maumelle
Sarah Elizabeth Vestal – Malvern
Leah R. Welker – Maumelle
Ngozidilenna Ada Wilkins – Bryant
Beverly N. Williams – Osceola
Stephanie Ryan Williams – Little Rock
Taco Williams – El Dorado
Lisa Joanne Wooten – Maumelle

Master of Health Services Administration
Karolina A. Cichon – Warsaw, Poland
Joshua Trent Conlee – Monroe, La.
Cayla Maree Henry – Conway
LaKendra Brenee Spates – West Helena

Post Baccalaureate Certificate in Public Health
Renee B. Brink – Cherokee Village
Rebecca Groff – Prattville, Ala.
Jeff L. Jackson – Ash Flat
Samantha Norwood – Hot Springs

Graduate Certificate in Regulatory Science
Rakhee Agarwal
Sudip Banerjee
Mallikarjuna Basavarajappa
Amani Bo Hliqa
Mohammed Imam
Tetyana Kudlyk
Jin-Hee Lim
Haixia Lin
Barbara Saunders
Vikrant Vijay
Cheng Hui Xie
Yi-Hong Zhang

And, congratulations to all awardees recognized at Convocation:

Public Health through Policy Award – State Senator Percy Malone
Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching – Professor Kevin Ryan
Faculty Award for Excellence in Research – Dr. Holly Felix

Student Council Awards:
Sonya T. Askew Award for Outstanding Public Health Student – Dr. Yousef A. Fahoum
Student Council Award for Outstanding Public Health Faculty Member – Dr. D. Keith Williams
Public Health and Community Service Scholarship Awards:
Fay W. Boozman Textbook Scholarship Award – Bryan Phelan
Fay W. Boozman Public Health and Community Service Scholarship Award – Patricia Minor
David Bourne, M.D., M.P.H., Public Health Physician Memorial Scholarship – Jason Arthur

Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health Inductees:
Dr. Sarah Norman Ashby
Ms. Ashley Bachelder
Ms. Karolina A. Cichon
Dr. Holly Felix
Senator Percy Malone
Ms. Jennifer I. Onukwube
Mr. Austin Porter

Honor Graduates:

Aisha Ahmad
Ashley Bachelder
Karolina Cichon
Joshua Conlee
Coedy Hadden
Corey Hayes
Bradley Houston
Sarah Hurst
Jeff Jackson
Jennifer Onukwube
LaKendra Spates
Sahba Talebi
Danielle Tchoungang
My Tran
Ngozidilenna Wilkins