September 28, 2015

UAMS Student and Faculty Recognized for Diversity Contributions

At a presentation on Sept. 9, several individuals affiliated with the College of Public Health were recognized for their efforts to advance diversity and inclusion on campus and in the community.

C O P H Student Mary Kathryn Allison, M P H

Mary Kathryn Allison, MPH

COPH doctoral student Mary Kathryn (Katy) Allison, MPH, was named the recipient of the student 2015 UAMS Diversity and Inclusion Award. Ms. Allison was nominated for her work on the development and implementation of the UAMS Safe Zone Program in collaboration with the LGBT Health Alliance, as well as her continued involvement in initiatives for equal access and care for sexual and gender minorities.





C O P H Assistant Professor Keneshia Bryant, P h D, R N, F N P - B C

Keneshia Bryant, Ph.D., RN, FNP-BC

Keneshia Bryant, Ph.D., RN, FNP-BC, Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing and secondary faculty in the COPH Department of Health Behavior and Health Education, was named the recipient of the faculty award. Dr. Bryant was honored for her leadership in various efforts, including the establishment of the College of Nursing Diversity and Inclusion Committee.






C O P H Secondary Professor Eduardo Ochoa, M.D.

Eduardo Ochoa, M.D.

Eduardo Ochoa, M.D., a nominee for the faculty award, was recognized for his service and leadership in advocacy for Arkansas’ underprivileged and underserved. Dr. Ochoa founded the Pediatric Latino Clinic in Little Rock in 2009 and is in the process of opening a new clinic in southwest Little Rock to serve all ethnicities and help ensure that Latino families receive quality of care from bilingual providers. Dr. Ochoa is an Associate Professor in the College of Medicine and holds a secondary position in the COPH Department of Health Policy and Management.