May 22, 2018

COPH Graduates 54 at Spring Commencement

Degrees and certificates were awarded to 54 graduates in the Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health May 19 during a COPH Honor Graduates at Convocationcommencement ceremony at Verizon Arena in North Little Rock.

Interim UAMS Chancellor Stephanie Gardner, PharmD., Ed.D., presented the Chancellor’s Award to Joseph H. Bates, M.D., M.S., professor and associate dean for Public Health Practice in the COPH.

The award is presented to a person whose service at UAMS is deserving of special recognition. Previous recipients include Sam M. Dixon, former U.S. Sen. Dale Bumpers, Jack Stephens, Lawrence Schmiedling and Willard and Pat Walker.

Bates is recognized internationally for his research that greatly improved the understanding and treatment of tuberculosis. He spent 35 years at UAMS, including 21 years as vice chair for the UAMS College of Medicine’s Department of Internal Medicine.

Joe Bates, M.D. receives the Chancellor's Award at CommencementUpon his retirement from UAMS in 1998, Bates became deputy state health officer and chief science officer for the Arkansas Department of Health. He was instrumental in establishing the Arkansas Center for Health Improvement and the COPH.

Congrats Dr. Bates!


The following are graduates of the COPH, listed by degree :

Post Baccalaureate Certificate in Public Health
Victor D. Alexander
James Ovid Booker*
Brandy Cooper*
James Randall Sarrett*

Post Baccalaureate Certificate in Environmental and Occupational Health
Charese Marie Simpson

Master of Health Administration
Kate McMillan Bellingrath*
Nicole Alexandra Breaux*
Payton Mackenzie Clyburn*
Wade Allen Euel Freer
Robert Allen Furrey
Stephen J. Hogg
Daniel Taliaferro McFarland
Harpreet Kaur Notey
Booth McGregor Owens *
Gregory Lewis Pryor *
Nancy Gail Purnell*
Rebecca K. Stone*
Memory Camille Waddle*

Master of Public Health

Noel D. Thompson*

Environmental and Occupational Health 
Carl Richard Taffner
Shaima Faheem Zayed

Jonathan Walter Aram *
Kailyn-Marie Bostic
Alisha Ann-Marie Crump
Jana Sheree Jacobs
Isaiah C. Ozuna
Shelbie Dawn Stahr *

Health Behavior and Health Education 
Hannah Jane Baroni*
Avery N. Cato
James Ray Davis
Joseph Connor Gibbs
William Marshall Gibbs, IV
Candice Graham-Adderton
Halie Annette Moreno*
Latasha Talley Moore
Samuel Evan Siegel*
Lorraine Stigar
Elizabeth Sloan Wenzel*

Health Policy and Management 
Dominique Alexandra Hamby
Jennifer Morales*
Jennifer Lynn Victory*

Rural Public Health Practice 
Lauren Downen Griever

Grant Alexander Cagle*
Jheanelle Nickale Dawkins*
Claire Chesshir Foster*
AjaNia Hearne*
Michael Collins Scott*
Lauren Elizabeth Taylor*

Megan LeAnn Chapman*
Dipali Yogin Patel*

Martha Jordan Butler

Doctor of Public Health
Emily Southwelle English*

Doctor of Philosophy (Health Prevention and Promotion Research)
Stephanie Ryan McCoy
Sharon Elaine Sanders

*Honor Graduates