Arkansas Prevention Research Center

Dedicated to better health for all Arkansans, the Arkansas Prevention Research Center (ARPRC) was established in 2009 at the Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health (COPH) at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) in Little Rock.

The ARPRC is part of a national network of 26 Prevention Research Centers (PRCs), which is a program of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The PRCs develop effective health promotion and disease prevention strategies that can bring long-term benefits to individuals, families, and communities. The PRCs also offer training and technical assistance to public health practitioners.

The ARPRC’s success depends upon strong partnerships with public health workers, researchers, and community partners in Arkansas who share the same vision for community health. The Center is a consortium of partners with a strong history of collaboration, which include the College of Public Health, the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) and community organizations in the Arkansas Delta.


The ARPRC mission is to find better ways to prevent and treat chronic diseases, such as heart disease, diabetes, and stroke, and to serve as a resource for public health practitioners and communities. Through education and research, the ARPRC and its partners develop and apply effective health promotion and disease prevention programs and strategies at the community level. Its programs are especially focused on the state’s racial and ethnic minorities, who bear the greatest burden of disease, as well as people living in rural areas, where access to health care is more difficult and there are often fewer resources to help people stay healthy.



Funding for the ARPRC was made possible (in part) by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The views expressed do not necessarily reflect the official policies of the Department of Health and Human Services, nor does the mention of trade names, commercial practices, or organizations imply endorsement by the US government.